Liquid Nebulizer / Aerosol Generators
ATM 240/L
EN 1822-4

ATM 240/L - Atomizer Aerosol Generator for Polystyrene (PSL) Particles

INNOVATION
The aerosol generator ATM 240/L is used to generate a highly concentrated aerosol out of a suspension for testing air filters using polystyrene (PSL) particles. In sensitive areas such as semiconductor and aerospace industry the testing of high efficiency HEPA filters is often not carried out with the commonly used oily aerosol substances (DEHS, PAO, etc.). more

The aerosol generator ATM 240/L is used to generate a highly concentrated aerosol out of a suspension for testing air filters using polystyrene (PSL) particles. In sensitive areas such as semiconductor and aerospace industry the testing of high efficiency HEPA filters is often not carried out with the commonly used oily aerosol substances (DEHS, PAO, etc.).

Even the smallest amounts of these substances can be stored in the filter and outgas in the application and can lead to product damages. The standard DIN EN 1822-4 describes the filter test with solid particles.

less
  • Very high particle production rate (up to 1,5*10 11 per minute)
  • High long-term stability of aerosol generation (VDI guideline 3491, part 2)
  • Monodisperse particle size distribution with a low number of agglomerates
  • Excellent scalability of particle production rate
  • Leak test up to filter class U16 (filter format 610mm x 610mm, volume flow 600 m³ / h) within reasonable time

 

  • Filter testing in sensitive areas such as the semiconductor and aerospace industries
  • Filter test with non-outgassing aerosol substance and monodisperse aerosol
  • Leak test up to filters of higher filter classes
  • Production test during filter production
  • Acceptance tests at the installation site of the filters

As a source for the filter test, the solid particles are referred to a particle size range called as MPPS (Most Penetrating Particle Size, in the range 0.1 … 0.3 microns).

A separation efficiency of a suspended matter filter determined with this particle size is always exceeded for other particle sizes.The PSL suspension is sprayed inside the device in a first process step by step via compressed air. Larger droplets get separated by the impactorand flow back to the suspension.This serves to avoid agglomerates. The water load resulting from the evaporation of the suspending agent is reduced byspraying at reduced temperatureto a minimum.

The smaller droplets are removed and dried in a second step by heated, dry and particle-free air.

The particles of the suspension contained in the droplets are transferred to the airborne state in this way and are available for a filter test as aerosol with solid particles. Due to the special design of the atomizer nozzle, a very high particle production rate is achieved.

Particle size

< 1µm

Determined by the particle diameter of the suspension particles
Particle production rate Up to 2 1011 /min,

scalable by suspension concentration and nozzle pressure

Min. required amount of suspension approx. 100 ml
Achievable filter class for leak test acc. DIN EN 1822-4 U16 (for filter dimension 610 mm x 610 mm,
600 m³/h)
Compressed air connection 6 bar, free of oil
Dimensions 900 x 400 x 300 mm
Weight 25 kg

Flüssigkeitsvernebler / Aerosolgeneratoren
Aerosolgenerierung aus Feststoffen
EN 1822-4

ATM 240/L - Atomizer Aerosolgenerator für Polystyrene Latex (PSL)-Partikel

INNOVATION
Der Aerosolgenerator ATM 240/L dient der Erzeugung eines hochkonzentrierten Aerosols aus einer Suspension für die Prüfung von Luftfiltern mittels Polystyrene Latex (PSL)-Partikeln. Die Prüfung von hocheffizienten Schwebstoffiltern wird in sensitiven Bereichen wie der Halbleiter- und Raumfahrtindustrie oft nicht mit den üblicherweise eingesetzten öligen Aerosolsubstanzen (DEHS, PAO, etc.) durchgeführt. mehr

Der Aerosolgenerator ATM 240/L dient der Erzeugung eines hochkonzentrierten Aerosols aus einer Suspension für die Prüfung von Luftfiltern mittels Polystyrene Latex (PSL)-Partikeln. Die Prüfung von hocheffizienten Schwebstoffiltern wird in sensitiven Bereichen wie der Halbleiter- und Raumfahrtindustrie oft nicht mit den üblicherweise eingesetzten öligen Aerosolsubstanzen (DEHS, PAO, etc.) durchgeführt.

Schon geringste Mengen dieser Substanzen können während der Prüfung im Filter gespeichert werden und bei der Verwendung des Filters ausgasen, was zu Produktschäden führen kann. In der Norm DIN EN 1822-4 wird die Filterprüfung mit festen Partikeln beschrieben. Aufgrund einer besseren Materialverträglichkeit werden PSL Partikel ebenso für die Prüfung von
PTFE-Membran-HEPA-Filtern empfohlen.

weniger
  • sehr hohe Partikelproduktionsrate (bis zu 1,5 *10¹¹ je Minute)
  • hohe zeitliche Stabilität der Aerosolgenerierung (VDI-Richtlinie 3491,Teil 2)
  • monodisperse Partikelgrößenverteilung mit geringem Anteil an Agglomeraten
  • Lecktest bis Filterklasse U16 (Filterformat 610mm x 610mm; Volumenstrom 600 m³/h) bei
    vertretbarem Zeitbedarf
  • geringer Mindestumfang der kostenintensiven Suspensionsvorlage (stabiler Betrieb ab ca. 50 ml Suspensionsvorlage möglich)
  • Filterprüfung in sensitiven Bereichen (Halbleiter- und Raumfahrtindustrie)
  • Filterprüfung mit ausgasungsfreier Aerosolsubstanz und monodispersem Aerosol
  • Lecktest bis hin zu Filtern höherer Filterklassen
  • Produktionstest bei der Filterherstellung
  • Akzeptanztests am Einbauort der Filter

Als Quelle für die Filterprüfung mit festen Partikeln, dient eine wässrige Suspension an Partikeln in einem Partikelgrößenbereich der als MPPS (Most Penetrating Particle Size, im Bereich 0,1…0,3 µm) bezeichnet wird.

Der mit dieser Partikelgröße ermittelte Abscheidegrad eines Schwebstofffilters wird bei anderen Partikelgrößen stets übertroffen.

Die PSL Suspension wird geräteintern in einem ersten Prozessschritt mittels Druckluft zerstäubt. Durch einen Prallabscheider werden größere Tröpfchen abgeschieden und der Suspension wieder zugeführt. Dies dient der Vermeidung von Agglomeraten. Die durch die Verdunstung des Suspensionsmittels entstehende Wasserbeladung wird durch das Zerstäuben bei verminderter Temperatur auf ein Minimum reduziert. Die kleineren Tröpfchen werden abgeführt und in einem zweiten Prozessschritt mittels erwärmter, trockener und partikelfreier Luft getrocknet.
Die in den Tröpfchen enthaltenen Partikel der Suspension werden auf diese Weise in den luftgetragenen Zustand überführt und stehen für die Filterprüfung als Aerosol mit festen Partikeln zur Verfügung. Durch die besondere Gestaltung der Zerstäuberdüse wird eine sehr hohe Partikelproduktionsrate erreicht.

Partikelgröße

< 1µm

Festgelegt durch den Partikeldurchmesser der Suspensionspartikel
Partikel-

produktionsrate

Bis zu 2 1011 je Minute,
Skalierbar mittels Suspensionskonzentration & Düsenvordruck
Min. erforderliche Suspensionsmenge ca. 100 ml
Erreichbare Filterklasse für Lecktest nach DIN EN 1822-4 U16 (für Filterformat
610 x 610 mm, 600 m³/h)
Druckluftanschluss 6 bar, ölfrei
Abmessungen 900 x 400 x 300 mm
Gewicht 25 kg